Wenonah, Hoover standouts win state Mr. and Miss Basketball
by staff reports
Apr 04, 2013 | 3417 views |  0 comments | 7 7 recommendations | email to a friend | print
MONTGOMERY – Two Birmingham-area players swept the Mr. and Miss Basketball honors today at the Alabama Sports Writers Association banquet.

Wenonah's De'Runnya Wilson, a Mississippi State football signee, won Mr. Basketball, while Marqu'es Webb of Hoover is Miss Basketball.

Wilson averaged 18.4 points and 15.8 rebounds a game as Wenonah won its third straight Class 5A state title. Webb, a Vanderbilt signee, averaged 15.1 points and 11.1 rebounds a game as Hoover won its second straight 6A crown.

Two players with local ties were finalists: Leah Strain of 2A Woodland and Quanetria Bolton of 4A Anniston. Neither won player of the year in their respective classification.

Class 5A player of the year Wilson leads the boys Super Five and is joined by 3A player of the year Joshua Langford of Madison Academy, 6A player of the year Lewis Sullivan of Hazel Green, Carver-Montgomery’s Jeremy Johnson and Wenonah’s Justin Coleman.

Named to the girls Super Five with 6A player of the year Webb are Faith Academy’s Jasmine Rhodes, 5A player of the year Shakayla Thomas of Sylacauga, Sparkman’s Alexis Jennings and Shades Valley’s Morgan William.

Alabama Sports Writers Association class players of the year


Class 6A, Lewis Sullivan, Hazel Green

Class 5A, De'Runnya Wilson, Wenonah

Class 4A, William Lee, Dallas County

Class 3A, Joshua Langford, Madison Academy

Class 2A, Alex Thompson, Houston Academy

Class 1A, Wesley Person Jr., Brantley

AISA, Ant Holtzclaw, Glenwood


Class 6A, Marqu'es Webb, Hoover

Class 5A, Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga

Class 4A, Destiney Elliott, Oneonta

Class 3A, Daneshia Malone, Clements

Class 2A, Kristen Emerson, Prattville Christian

Class 1A, Anna Claire Noblit, Covenant Christian

AISA, Breanne DeBaets, Lee-Scott

Mr. Basketball

1985, Vincent Robinson, Bridgeport

1986, Larry Rembert, Keith

1987, Bryant Lancaster, Valley

1988, Terrance Lewis, Ramsay

1989, Queintonia Higgins, Fairhope

1990, Cedric Moore, Woodlawn

1991, Victor Newman, Houston Academy

1992, Darryl Wilson, South Lamar

1993, Howard Pride, Butler

1994, Rod Willie, Lee-Huntsville

1995, Brian Williams, Jeff Davis

1996, Isaac Spencer, Jeff Davis

1997, Anthony Williams, Loachapoka

1998, Sam Haginas, UMS-Wright

1999, Marvin Stone, Grissom

2000, Gerald Wallace, Childersburg

2001, Chris White, Grissom

2002, Kennedy Winston, Blount

2003, Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2004, Ronald Steele, John Carroll

2005, Richard Hendrix, Athens

2006, Stanley Robinson, Huffman

2007, Courtney Fortson, Jeff Davis

2008, JaMychal Green, St. Jude

2009, Kerron Johnson, Madison Academy

2010, Trevor Lacey, Butler

2011, Trevor Lacey, Butler

2012, Craig Sword, Carver-Montgomery

2013 De’Runnya Wilson Wenonah
Comments must be made through Facebook
No personal attacks
No name-calling
No offensive language
Comments must stay on topic
No infringement of copyrighted material

Friends to Follow

Most Recommended
Today's Events

event calendar

post a new event

Thursday, April 17, 2014